Skip to content

February 9, 2010

We’ve been told February is the most brutal month here. And so far they’ve been right. It’s 19 degrees in the middle of the day, and I just can’t justify bringing Naftalie out in this weather, not in the stroller or a carrier. And I’ll be honest, it’s beginning to wear on me. The reality that we really live here and really will live here for a long time (longer than Danny or I have ever lived anywhere before) is setting in.

So to combat some serious SAD (*sorry I’ve been crabby lately Danny*), appreciating the little things helps. Like our home filled with the aroma of a roast and steaming root vegetables.  Talking to Jessica on Skype for an hour and really feeling like we had a conversation together. Watching Lost on the couch with Danny bundled under the covers. Standing in the kitchen discussing how/why/if/what God responds to our prayers. Naftalie’s full body wiggle in her crib when we open her bedroom door. Sewing, cutting, pressing, seam ripping near my husband while he studies/procrastinates on chess.com. Rice cake, peanut butter, and semi-sweet chocolate chips trifecta. Reading and singing my baby to sleep.

I’m blessed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 8:19 am

    Everything you just listed reminds me so much of you. I loved Skyping the other day! What a great invention. Again? Soon?

    p.s. please tell Danny it hardly ever gets to 19 degrees in Arkansas…

  2. millison permalink
    February 9, 2010 10:37 am

    What a lovely post. You’re counting your blessings instead of giving into the seasonal depression stuff. And the photo looks sooo inviting with little Naftalie holding her spoon–cute! Some of her facial expressions remind me so much of Danny, which I guess is normal since I don’t “remember” any of your facial expressions as a baby. Love you Shannon. Stay happy and grateful. Your house is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

