Skip to content

Why We Don’t Have A Dryer

February 12, 2010

We don’t have a dryer for the same reason we have one car, why I cloth diaper and make all of Naftalie’s food, why potatoes/pasta/rice is in every meal we eat, why we keep our thermostat on 60 degrees, why I coast in neutral down hills, why I haven’t purchased a winter clothing item since 2005 (to be fair we lived in Hawaii for three winters), why I don’t even buy name brand Ramen noodles – it saves money.

Please feel free to share extreme frugal secrets. Can’t get enough.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:15 pm

    I recently started saving vegetable scraps (carrot ends, broccoli stalks, old potatoes, etc) in the freezer, and then making vegetable stock with them. Then I have a nice soup base or something different to cook my rice in. I’m not sure how much money this saves, but it’s a good way to make what you have stretch a little further, and it’s pretty yummy.

  2. Molly permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:15 pm

    Also, great picture. Those padded little clothes look so comfy!

  3. February 12, 2010 1:37 pm

    Yes! Do you strain it? The quilted pj’s are from China, if I could buy more I would – they’re like wearing a blanket suit!

  4. Molly permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:55 pm

    Yep, I put it through a sieve, and then I eat whatever looks tasty, and toss the rest into the compost.

  5. Brady permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:58 pm

    yeah, you strain it and then put the spent veggies in the compost.

    the big can of spaghetti sauce is just as good as newman’s if you add your own seasonings. i love to support newman’s for their charities, but it is twice as expensive as the can.

    also, bringing your own containers to the bulk section of the health food store so you don’t have to pay for the packaging and you get a better deal and help eliminate waste.

    our family could write a how to live well thriftily.

  6. February 12, 2010 4:31 pm

    A mechanic once told me that putting your car into neutral on hills/getting off the bypass etc. (which i used to always do) doesn’t really save gas at all and is dangerous. I want to say they told me it’s not good on the engine either, for some reason.
    Anyways this post is funny because it’s interesting to learn different people’s frugal areas. You guys keep your house at 60 degrees but send packages in the mail. We have the heat on, but the thought of sending a package through the mail seems so, so rich and expensive to me. I have no idea? But it’s funny to hear what people will spend money on, and what they won’t. As long as it all balances out and in the end you’re being wise, that’s all that matters!

    p.s. Broon, why no comments on my blog?! I didn’t know you were on here!!

  7. February 12, 2010 11:58 pm

    Molly, I called you a few days ago because I need some help with starting our compost. Do you guys use Freecycle? I know there’s one in NWA but as of last year it wasn’t very active. This week I asked for a popcorn tin (I think I’ll line it with a paper bag to use for the kitchen compost throw in pile) and large jars (like the pickle jars you can get at Sams) for the bulk pantry foods – and someone’s going to leave several jars and tins on their porch for me today!

    Jessica, I think it’s not safe if you have an automatic transmission, I know it saves gas with a manual! We are driving so little these days that we fill up about once a month. It’s really great.

  8. millison permalink
    February 13, 2010 6:58 am

    My own “extreme frugals” include: no cable television or antennas, no microwave, no Kleenex or paper towels, no toaster. But a dryer?? I gotta have me a dryer. Oh, and my only bed is an old twin sized one.

    BTW: I like automatic transmissions. What’s not safe about them?

    And I love this photo. It’s so cool.

  9. February 13, 2010 8:55 am

    ahhh yes, that makes sense, that it doesn’t affect a manual transmission.

  10. Molly permalink
    February 13, 2010 9:03 am

    Ooh, I’ll have to check out Freecylce and see if anything’s happening. I could really use some bricks (we need yet another bookshelf).
    We actually bought a compost bin from Sam’s because we were worried about animals getting into it and dragging stuff all over the yard. We’re pretty excited about opening it up this spring to see if it made us any soil. Even if it doesn’t make much dirt, though, it’s nice to have a place other than the trashcan for food scraps– I HATE rotting food in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

