Skip to content

February 18, 2010

I’ve never found a diaper bag that I liked, (well, except for this one, but who has over $100 to drop on a diaper bag?) so now that Naftalie’s almost ten months old I figured it was time to start carrying one. I’ve been toting around my trusty pink wallet and a single diaper thrown in the bag seat, but we’re beginning the stage of carrying Cheerios and sippy cups and attention-keeping toys around.

Since I’m on a quest to hone all of my post-petrolium apocalypse compound skills (to include sewing), I decided to make one. And I have to admit, I feel like a blue bird with his puffed up chest strutting around for a female to notice. This was my first time following a pattern (quilts have literally been thrown together piece by piece), installing a zipper (not too bad!), and working with linen. This tutorial was so helpful and I was inspired by this pillow for the front flap. I made one of the side pockets larger for my Camelback, and used a hair band to loop the button. Gotta learn how to be resourceful when the apocalypse comes!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Danny permalink
    February 18, 2010 4:36 am

    That’s my little millennialist….good job wife.

  2. millison permalink
    February 18, 2010 4:37 am

    I love your Apocalypse Diaper Bag, Shannon. It looks like it can handle pretty much anything you can throw in there except maybe the stroller. You are truly emerging as a creative nurturing mommy. Great job!

  3. brady permalink
    February 18, 2010 4:46 am

    way cool. molly and i are honing our gardening skills for the compound. fayetteville just had a seed sharing seminar at the library and we got some really great heirloom tomato and pepper seeds. once we get seed saving down, we are going to be producing some beautiful vegetables.

  4. February 18, 2010 4:49 am

    how cute! i’m so proud of you! i don’t see HOW you’ve gone 9 months with no diaper bag. I couldn’t do it!

  5. Molly permalink
    February 18, 2010 11:20 am

    I love it!! In fact, I love it more than the $100 one– yours is way cuter. 🙂
    We’re going to have the best post-apocalypse compound ever! (We’re going to have to get you a solar-powered sewing machine, though).

  6. Molly permalink
    February 18, 2010 11:20 am

    Ugh. I typed an emoticon and it turned into a garish yellow smiley face. Sorry about that.

  7. Dana permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:56 pm

    Yes! I’d have to say (in my opinion) you’ve mastered your sewing skills for the compound.

    This bag is adorable, Shannon…way to go! I especially love the lining. Doesn’t if feel good to know that 1. You made it yourself and 2. No one else has one exactly the same?!

  8. Sheryl permalink
    February 19, 2010 12:29 am

    This is amazing, Shannon! YOU are amazing. I LOVE the diaper bag. You may have a cottage industry there, my dear, with all your talent. “Designs by Channynn”!!!!

  9. Nanny permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:23 pm

    Hey, Sweet girl. I love the picture of you and Naftalie. You both are so beautiful. I have to copy it, it is a keeper, as they all are!! And the diaper bag, I am very proud of you. You have the talent and nothing is beyond your reach!! It truly is rewarding, isn’t it! You can’t put a price on satisfaction. You are such a good momma, I love it when you are looking at your precious gift, your eyes express so much love. Words can not begin to describe it. I love you both so so much.
    Have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

