Skip to content

April 1, 2010

Yesterday was Passover. As you all know I have a Jewish heart (that belongs to Jesus) and decided this year that the Finers would celebrate Jewish holidays. Having a child and new generation has inspired me to expose my family to experiences that not only will educate them but also create family rituals they can look forward to and gain security in. Both Danny and I value tradition and want our children to have celebrations and holiday traditions that hold lasting memories.

Passover is a beautiful celebration and is full of symbolic meaning. There is a simple delineation of the Passover seder meal meanings here, I also found an informative children’s book at the library and read some excerpts at the table after our meal. We know that Jesus ate this meal with the twelve disciples days before his death. Millions and millions of people for thousands of years have gathered together and shared this meal to remember the Exodus of the Israelites. What an honor to do this with my own family and to share in the reading of Exodus 11 and 12 (admittedly heavy stuff) knowing that millions of families all over the world are sitting at similar tables, remembering the same story.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dana permalink
    April 1, 2010 5:43 am

    so…did Naftalie find the afikohman? what was her prize!?

    I think it’s so neat that you did this Shannon! You’re way better than we are (we’re not celebrating till next weekend. Yes I know…we’re bad jews).

    Happy Passover Finer Family!

  2. millison permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:53 am

    Shannon, you wonderful little Jewish mommy! That’s sooooooooo COOL! And the food looks delicious.

  3. April 1, 2010 8:20 am

    how fun! Walmart had a special Passover/Jewish food section for the first year, I think. I thought that was pretty cool.

  4. Sheryl permalink
    April 1, 2010 3:01 pm

    Wow…..very, very cool. You’re an inspiration, Shannon!

  5. Sheryl permalink
    April 1, 2010 3:01 pm

    and look at that beautiful, precious child!

  6. April 2, 2010 1:01 am

    We are not having a seder meal just yet, but we talked about Moses and Passover on Tuesday. Today, we talked about Jesus and His last supper (and the betrayal and Garden of Gethsemane). Tomorrow will be a solemn day as we remember his crucifixion. I haven’t decided yet, but I think I may wear black and keep things very quiet. Sam drew a picture this morning of Moses in the Nile and had a picture of Jochebed crying on the banks. I thought that was incredibly insightful–especially because I didn’t say that she cried when she put him in the Nile. 5 is a fun age. Thanks for the inspiration–I have always wanted to embrace the seder meal and accompanying traditions. I will do so next year!

  7. April 3, 2010 3:32 am

    Dana, we’re waiting until next year for that, if we did that this year Naftalie’d NEVER find it!!

    Amanda, I hope you and your family are remembering Good Friday with meaning today. I’m feeling unsure about when age appropriate times to discuss stories and elements of our faith are – I may be asking you about this in the future.

Leave a Reply

