Skip to content

April 9, 2010

The dawn of spring has blessed me with a light spirit and a deep sense of contentment. All is well when you can go outside barefoot. Naftalie and I are in all our glory when the sun is beaming and we are outside experiencing the elements.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:15 am

    Oh look at our little angel doing her gardening! She’s a girl after my own heart. I love the way you captured this, Shannon. I think about you when I’m transplanting little seedlings and raking the dirt into rows. So much life everywhere we look. God is awesome. Meme loves you both.

  2. Dana permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:26 am

    It does feel really great, doesn’t it?! You guys have a little garden girl…go Naftalie!

  3. sheryl permalink
    April 9, 2010 10:37 am

    Oh. dear. goodness!!! Too, too precious!

  4. caitlyn permalink
    April 9, 2010 1:01 pm

    aaand this is now our background.

  5. brady permalink
    April 9, 2010 2:29 pm

    awww, naftalie is honing her skills for the ppa compound.

  6. Molly permalink
    April 10, 2010 1:26 am

    It must be so fun to watch her learn all about dirt and grass for the first time. What are you guys planting?

  7. April 11, 2010 10:40 am

    Molly, the last frost is May 18th here so I’m starting seeds indoors this weekend (it actually snowed last night). I found a pile of lumber at Lowes and asked someone if I could have it (yes!), so I’ll build the raised beds as soon as it hits 60 degrees. I’ve got lots of plans for squash, tomatoes, carrots, peas, peppers, potatoes, and several herbs; we’ll see how the baby seedlings grow.

  8. Molly permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:37 am

    That’s awesome that you just got free lumber. It’s amazing what you can find for free (or super cheap) if you just ask around in your neighborhood or on Craigslist. A lot of times, gardeners are willing to share slips of perennials.
    I usually plant a ton of different things, and most of them don’t amount to much (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had withered peas or 18-inch cornstalks), but every year I get better and better at getting things to grow. Last year Brady and I were practically intoxicated with the success of our squash and tomatoes. They were our pride and joy, I tell you. It’s so exciting! This year we’re doing corn, cucumbers, squash, tomatoes and lots of other stuff from seed, and I’m so excited to see what turns out.

  9. Dennis permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:21 am

    I want some garden tomatoes, please. Will they be ready by July?

Leave a Reply

