Skip to content

April 11, 2010

This is the face of a man who loves McDonalds. Safe to say it’s one of his most favorite guilty pleasures.

I’ve been thinking about guilty pleasures lately and how we hide them in order to promote the image we want to portray to others or to ourselves. I’m currently in the midst of some personal onion peeling and I’m learning more about the Real me. It ain’t pretty folks, but with Grace what will replace it will be.

This isn’t the soul bearing forum of the real unpretty/weighty stuff, but there are plenty of not so serious guilty (and really incongruent) pleasures I hide:

.:. Bowls of MSG and saturated fat washed down with artificial sugars and carbon dioxide (Ramen and Diet Coke)

.:. Hours of time online (when I scoff at those who watch television)

.:. Fake tanning lotion and make up (while promoting natural beauty)

.:. Massively unhealthy quantities of cakes and brownies (from boxes)

.:. Having personal Tea Party gatherings in my head while reading political commentary (I can be as fundamental and right-wing as I want in my imagination)

Please feel free to share your own guilty pleasures and inconsistencies. In all seriousness, thank you for loving me in spite of mine.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    April 11, 2010 4:29 pm

    Shannon, I love this photo of Danny. And your list of guilty pleasures is perfect. My #1 Guilty Pleasure has to be this: I make a big deal out of eating homemade soups with cabbage, onion, whatever I can scrounge up. Very healthy. And then I add tons of salt, fake soup mix, and….more salt, making it not so healthy. But I have to do it in order to cover up the massive amounts of cabbage and spinach I threw in (in order to be healthy). Been doing it for years.

    And let’s not forget that I quit smoking forever at least once a day. Only to fail with multiple excuses as to why it’s ok for now blah blah.

    The imaginary tea party gatherings scare me b/c you sound a little too much like moi<<–closet conservative, shhhh!

  2. Dana permalink
    April 11, 2010 11:54 pm

    I’d have to say that Brandon and I have a guilty pleasure for eating out…….especially fast food, i.e.) taco bell, sonic, etc. After watching Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution for the first time a couple of week’s ago, I swore up and down that I WOULD NEVER eat fast food again…I mean, he showed how they made chicken for chicken fingers and let’s just say it wasn’t pretty.

    Guess what we ate the next day!? Taco Bell’s chicken quesadillas.

  3. April 12, 2010 3:53 am

    I feel both of you. Salt soup and disemboweled ground bird parts, yum!

  4. Molly permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:55 am

    How about being the kind of person who likes to exercise instead of a person who actually exercises?

    Ow. Ow. Owwww! Dr. Marvin, you can help me.

  5. sheryl permalink
    April 12, 2010 7:07 am

    I love to consume large amounts of caffeinated rat poison in a styrofoam cup with crushed ice. It’s especially a treat from the hours of 2-4 when it is half price!!!

  6. April 12, 2010 11:23 am

    Shannon, this is SO WEIRD that you posted this today because i was going to blog how i TOTALLY hypocrited myself today!
    -I went to and became one with the GOLDEN CORRAL crowd.
    -I…brace yourself…went tanning. I can’t stand being this milky, Scarlett Johannsen white, and I won’t be laying out much this summer with a new baby, so i bought 1 week’s worth of tanning with my birthday money. It was just as gross as I remember and as I laid in the bed i kept thinking “this isn’t me, this is so not me”

    So yes…I’m with you on the dumb things we do sometimes.

  7. January 25, 2011 3:19 am

    ‘:’ I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information ~.-

Leave a Reply

