Skip to content

April 23, 2010

Happy Earth Day guys. I hope in some way today can inspire us to make more changes in how we honor our planet. We’re blessed with a diverse and beautiful earth that for me is a constant reminder of our Creator.  There is something inherently spiritual about the Rocky Mountains and Kailua beach, there is a presence there that is strong and very Real. We live on an awesome planet.

Living in Hawaii sparked my true understanding of the importance of respecting our environment. Hawaiians have a deep respect for the island that is both cultural and spiritual. It’s a part of living and thinking there. Recycling is a way of life (Oahu has little room for more landfills and actually ships trash to the Big Island), conservation is key on such a small body of land, and with almost everything being shipped from thousands of miles away, buying anything takes a little more consideration. This coupled with my husband’s fear of peak oil and the Post Petroleam Apocolypse – well, we started changing some of the ways we lived.  Being pregnant and having Naftalie has encouraged me to a new level of awareness and action.

I’m thankful that this is no longer a counter cultural movement. Being mindful about what we do (or don’t do) and its effects is slowly becoming something that mainstream folks are thinking about. Dad’s talking about organic produce and Jessica’s using cloth diapers, this is great!  The more we continue to shift the conservationist lifestyle from the “crunchy” and “dust and rocks” eating folks, the sooner Joe Plummer is going to be using a low-flow toilet.

There are a lot of resources out there to help you consider new ways to change habits, but the easiest thing to do is buy less stuff. Americans are kind of sickening when it comes to materialism, and it not only affects our psyches/spirits but our planet too. Simply asking, “do I really need this?” can help us to think twice and maybe collect less stuff.

This year I’m making my first attempt at a seed garden. The raised beds are from lumber I asked for (kindly) at Lowes, compost from a nieghbor, and I even snagged a nice rake on Freecycle. There are numerous reasons why I’m trying my hand at this, but some of them include the opportunity to touch the ground, sit in fresh grass, learn about the sun and moisture and bugs and organic soil nutrients, and to be outside creating something. 

Hope you all have a blessed Earth Day, let me know if you or your family has been inspired lately to do something planet friendly.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:05 am

    Look at your little seedlings that is too fabulous! And stay close to the heirloom bunch. I didn’t have time to order heirlooms this year but I intend to next year for sure. Right now my windows are crowded with the following: marigolds, basil, oregano, peppermint, catnip, lavender, rosemary, houseplants and a flower I’ve never grown before: Sedum.

    Also have Mario buried underneath a little Austrian Pine out back, where I want to put more perennials and maybe some evergreens. Love you Shannon.

  2. April 23, 2010 6:16 am

    That’s great Millison, we buried Naftalie’s placenta under a citrus tree in Mom’s front yard. It will always be there.

  3. Dana permalink
    April 23, 2010 6:32 am

    Look at your seedlings! Are you planning on making tomato sauce from your Roma’s?

    There is just something about being outside in the sunshine, with your hands in the dirt that just makes me so happy. If I could do it all day every day I would.

    Happy Earth Day, Friend!

  4. April 23, 2010 6:38 am

    Holy Spirit has SO been talking to me lately about the Earth. This planet, this place, was given to us humans to rule and reign over, to take care of. And we SO are not. The Bible says the earth is groaning and trevailing waiting for the sons of God to rise up and take their place. Hence the earthquakes, volcanoes, hurricanes. The earth’s response to nobody taking care of it. When we stop not only taking care of it, but actively DAMAGE it, these things happen.
    So little by little I’m letting Him show me ways that I can help. Letting my spirit be changed instead of trying to be Captain Planet by the flesh, cause we all know that wouldn’t last.
    I am so, so thankful for this beautiful place and am serious about preserving it.

  5. brady permalink
    April 23, 2010 6:54 am

    Yay conservation! Yay earth!

    But this leads me to ask…are you nature or gay? (inside family joke for all non-carman’s)

  6. Sheryl permalink
    April 23, 2010 4:22 pm

    I love your posts! Thanks for being so awesome and caring about what matters. I’m proud of you and how you’re setting such a great example for Naftalie and the rest of the lil’ Finers to come!:)

  7. Dennis permalink
    April 29, 2010 3:57 am

    Gen 1:29. God destroyed this thing we tend to animate and anthropomorphize and will do it again with fire. The planet is a passing thing and a tool. You don’t mis-use your tools or you won’t have them very long. But you don’t worry if your tool likes you, is “happy”, or such.

    Sorry but when some ideas go unchallenged people tend to think you agree.

Leave a Reply

