Skip to content

April 30, 2010

Yesterday was a big day at our house. Naftalie turned one and we celebrated in traditional form. Danny skipped class and we spent the morning watching our first Disney animated feature (Jungle Book), playing with our new toys (to include a toucan named George Micheal), and eating cake (I used whole wheat flour exclusively for this recipe and it still turned out delicious).

I still sometimes feel a pain in my heart when I think about how fortunate we are to have such a healthy, happy child. She is simply perfect. A year ago today I woke up to a little seven pound lump of amazingness between Danny’s pillow and mine. I’ve never gone anywhere in public, still to this day, without someone telling me what a beautiful baby she is. Every day has been an adventure and full of learning about who we are as parents and as a family. Before she was born I wanted to raise her with attachment and gentleness in mind, and she is certainly attached and gentle. This little one is daily maturing and developing right before our eyes. I could go on and on, but really, this is one special kid.

Thank you to each of you who made this day special by sending gifts or calling/writing. We’re so lucky to have such great friends and family. And if you didn’t catch her birthday video, you can check it out here.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    May 1, 2010 2:06 am

    A toucan? I need to hear more about this toucan. What a wonderful day she’s had and I love the idea of a healthy cake. You are a woman after my own heart, Shannon. And she looks so cute in her widdle pawty dwess! (sigh!) I’m so happy for you guys.

  2. Sheryl permalink
    May 1, 2010 2:27 am

    Oh! Those eyes!! Oh that smile!! She is just filled with love and trust and beauty! You have done an amazing job, Shannon. She is definately attached and bonded and filled to the brim:). The legacy you and Danny are creating will come back to bless you for years to come. Children truly ARE a blessing from God. Way to take care of the gift He’s given you!! I love you all!

  3. Molly permalink
    May 1, 2010 4:28 am

    That crown is so awesome. I’m thinking about making a 26 for myself…

  4. May 1, 2010 4:34 am

    I’m glad you think so, we joked yesterday that rather than a princess Naftalie was looking more like the Catholic church’s first female (and youngest) bishop.

  5. Sheryl permalink
    May 1, 2010 5:41 am

    Far better than cardstock Burger King crowns covered in foil and magic markered to decorate:) It’s adorable!

  6. Dennis permalink
    May 1, 2010 9:08 am

    Danny and Shannon, enjoy her and memorize these days. Rehearse them now so you’ll have all the details for as long as you can.

  7. brady permalink
    May 1, 2010 2:20 pm

    the number one bishop that is.

  8. jessica kiehn permalink
    May 1, 2010 11:52 pm

    LOVE your banner, i’m so going to copy that. Leslie has an Etsy shop for banners, did you know that? Anways…I can’t wait to hold and play with your little Naftalie. And see her STAND! and everything:) just a few more weeks!!!

Leave a Reply

