Skip to content

May 5, 2010

Danny’s brother, Jon, is leaving very soon for Afghanistan. Most of the readers of this blog know Jon, know what kind of Marines Finers are, and know that this isn’t his first deployment. Although we all experience this in different ways, I’m reliving the night(s) before Danny left. They were hard nights. They’re nights that were for me a tension between wanting to be the vulnerable and weak spirit I was, and the strong/stable warrior wife I knew my husband needed me to be.

I’m writing tonight with a heavy heart, knowing that with his battalion there are hundreds of women (including my sister in law) who are feeling this tension.  A deployment is a refining fire for marriage. It can bring out the very best and the ugly in us. It is a time of tremendous stress and requires relational resources when they’re almost non existent. I’ve never had to trust Jesus like I did when Danny was deployed.

Jon and Jessica, we’re rooting for you both. Only you can experience the upcoming months in your way, but we want to support you and show you that our hearts are cheering for both of you to endure this with Grace and Bravery.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    May 5, 2010 4:43 pm

    Thankyou Shannon. You were a wonderful Marine wife to Danny, you know what it is like.

  2. brady permalink
    May 5, 2010 10:40 pm

    First of all, awesome ‘stache Jon.

    Jon and Jessica, we’ll be praying for you big time. Deployment is something that I can’t really wrap my head around, so we’ll be praying for safety and courage and strength for you.

    Love you guys, and can’t wait to meet the whole family.

  3. Molly permalink
    May 6, 2010 2:44 am

    Amen and amen!

  4. May 6, 2010 8:37 am

    Shannon thank you so much. The support and love that comes from you and Danny is indescribable. Thank you again, much love and blessings Jess and Kellan ❤

  5. Sheryl permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:54 am

    Praying for Jon and Jessica and Kellan while he’s gone. Thanks, Shannon. You’re awesome!

  6. August 1, 2010 7:49 am

    Jessica I have not had the priviledge of meeting you but Jon has been to Bentonville, and we did our ‘pontoon’ night on the lake while he was here and I saw the energy that you hubby has…..what a joy to be around him, fun, laughter, and we fell in love with him immediately.
    You are both in my prayers and now this added blessing, he is being covered also.
    Shannon, I could feel your heart with your blog. Again,
    you put me into tears. Thank you Danny and Jon for being willing to serve our Country so bravely. I truly
    thank you.

Leave a Reply

