Skip to content

May 9, 2010

I’m entering a phase of motherhood that involves more than providing physical comfort and care for my child; Danny and I are now models of character for Naftalie. There is a mind and spirit in the house that is observant and very perceptive.

This tree beautifully illustrates what I want my children to hold onto. I know I need to be these things before I hope my children to be them.

If that’s not humbling I don’t know what is.

My ideals are not always reality, and that is pretty difficult for me to come to terms with. I expect to apologize often to my children and ask for their forgiveness when I am not embodying this tree of virtues.

If they can learn to be forgiving a gracious we’ve got a good start.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    May 9, 2010 4:39 am

    You are absolutely right, Shannon. They will learn these things from their parents. But don’t be tooooooo hard on yourself. After all you gots lotsa babies in your future!

  2. brady permalink
    May 10, 2010 12:33 am

    i get this feeling when i am working in the classroom, so i can only imagine how much stronger it is when it is your own child. we are to model these qualities for children if we want the same attributes to realize in them. it is a great responsibility, but the pay off is bigger than i can imagine. you are great parents and naftalie is a great daughter/niece/granddaughter/great-granddaughter. you guys are doing a great job.

    happy mother’s day.

  3. Sheryl permalink
    May 10, 2010 1:02 am

    Your children will rise up and call you blessed one day, Shannon. You and Danny are modeling this beautifully. Do remember that love covers all. You will say/do/model things you will regret, but the love you have will cover over it all and the flaws we have as humans are actually what paint a more interesting picture and teach our children humanity. Love, dance, play, teach, sing, care, learn right along with teaching that all to Naftalie and the rest of your children. I love you with all my heart. HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!

Leave a Reply

