Skip to content

June 2, 2010

Sometimes I look at my child and wish I had the same kind of healthy obliviousness she does. I used to pride myself for my self-awareness and sensitivity to how others perceive me; I’m humbly learning a) I don’t have the self-awareness I thought I did and b) self-awareness is overrated and borderline narcissistic.

Would it be so bad if I loved the sushi I was eating for the first time so much that some got stuck on my cheek? Would my cover be blown if someone saw me laughing and bending my legs a little when something tickled me, even if it was simple and not that cool (like the song Skidamaringkee Dinkeedink)?

I don’t think so. I’m learning that it might be more important to be oblivious than cool. Thank you my sweet Naftalie.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica kiehn permalink
    June 2, 2010 12:43 pm

    AGAIN…ruby has that same cupcake outfit:)

    And I looooove the freedom that comes with not caring what people think. I can’t wait for the day that I am 100% there, but trust me, I’m a lot closer than I’ve ever been.
    Love you, neffy.

  2. millison permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:09 pm

    THAT’s the Grandaddy Studt grin! So cute! And I couldn’t agree with you more on the subject of “self awareness” versus just plain authenticity. Thank YOU my beautiful Shannon. Yours and Jessica’s blogs make my entire day.

  3. Sheryl permalink
    June 3, 2010 11:47 pm

    Now THAT’S living! I couldn’t agree more. You are becoming so aware of the amazing gift and epiphany of parenthood. We actually learn more from our children, and ultimately God through them and our experiences than us teaching them:) Beautiful, beautiful journey of life!!! And OHHHHH that precious child!!! Dear goodness I love her! She is so full of fun and expression just bubbling over:) I want to dance with her again, waving our arms in the air:)

  4. June 4, 2010 12:37 am

    Got My Mind Set On You by George Harrison was playing at the coop this morning, we were dancing in the isles together and waving our arms. Even a worker came by and did a little jig with us.

  5. Sheryl permalink
    June 4, 2010 1:23 am

    Love it! Joy is contagious:)

Leave a Reply

