Skip to content

June 15, 2010

A much less divisive topic: food.

If you know me, you know I love Mexican food. Beans, cheese, tomatoes, corn, cummin, peppers – hard to go wrong. Yesterday I made a very simple soup with ingredients on hand, sometimes when you end up throwing ingredients together you create something delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 lb of chicken (I pulled the remaining meat off of a rotisserie chicken eaten the night before)

1 box of chicken broth

2 cups of green enchilada sauce

1/4 of a cup of sour cream (or in my case, whatever was left in the container)

1/3 of a cup of processed cheese (admission: I use Velveeta occasionally………and we’ll all be okay)

1/4 of large onion

1 large tomato

1 cup of corn

6 corn tortillas

fresh cilantro

garlic salt, ground pepper, cummin, cayenne pepper, vegetable oil

In a large pot simmer chicken stock, enchilada sauce, and chicken. In a skillet, saute the diced onion with a splash of vegetable oil. Add corn and tortillas sliced in 1/2 inch strips. Add garlic salt, ground pepper, cummin, cayenne pepper to taste (I like a lot!). While the soup is simmering, add a handful of cilantro sprigs and the chopped tomato. When the corn is blackened, add the corn/onions/tortilla strips to the soup. Add sour cream and “cheese”. Allow to continue to simmer/reduce until desired consistency (it goes without saying that you’re tasting this throughout every step of the process, of course). Add more cilantro just before serving, the wilted cilantro has a different flavor than fresh. Feel free to garnish with pico de gallo and shredded cheese, or have it on its own.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheryl permalink
    June 15, 2010 12:37 am

    this looks amazing!! YUMMMMMM:):):) What time’s dinner?

  2. brady permalink
    June 15, 2010 12:50 am

    looks good. molly made some delicious chicken picante soup last week. also, we have started buying dry beans and soaking them for soups and bean dishes (i.e. hummus). i didn’t think there would be much of a difference between the two types of beans, but there is. the dried beans are firmer and taste heartier than canned beans. plus they are soooooo cheap.

    • June 15, 2010 3:38 am

      They are soooo cheap. And no BPA in the cans……but I like my garbanzo beans soft because it makes hummus easier to make. I think I’ve tried soaking/boiling twice and both times were failures.

  3. Molly permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:01 am

    Yummy!! I want some of that for my soul, pronto!

  4. millison permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:36 am

    Looks awesome. I definitely need to make this, but with tofu since I’m not supposed to eat cheeeeeze. Great lookin’ soup!

  5. Molly permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:51 am

    When we made hummus with fresh (non-canned?) garbanzo beans, I used the water they were boiled in to smooth out the batch. The hummus was really nice and creamy until I refrigerated it; then it dried out. Next time, I want to try it with tahini, to see if that makes a difference.

  6. June 18, 2010 2:15 am

    This looks YUMMY! I think I will make it tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

