Skip to content

Back in Black, and Peach?

August 1, 2010

As a direct response to Millison’s campaign, here we are several weeks after a brief hiatus. I’ve realized that somehow this blog created a sense that you were more in tune with Naftalie and our day to day lives, and that this sense made the distance between us seem smaller. I am still learning what privacy means and why it is important, as well as the pitfalls of being (overly) protective of who we are and what we do. You’ll probably see first hand how that balance of privacy and transparency comes to form.

I’m here to give the people what they want, so here are a few images from a picnic we attended yesterday.

Although the magic show was a flop, the food certainly wasn’t. And as any shrewd grad student family would do, we used the show’s diversion to make heaping plates of barbeque and stuff them under Naftalie in the stroller. Danny was on watch while I tried not to look up, heaping chicken breasts, hot dogs, and pulled pork onto a paper plate as inconspicuously as possible. It was both one of our finer moments, and possibly most depraved.

I’m going to go get some baked beans now.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 4:49 am

    I’m sitting here laughing and crying. I’ve so missed your lives and adventures. Naftalie is growing up so fast (sigh!). And that’s totally awesome about stashing the barbeque (lmao!). Way to go guys. Ah, this is a great day!

  2. August 1, 2010 4:49 am

    PS: That photo of the little feet is too precious. You guys look great, and did I see shorter hair on Shannon?

  3. Dana permalink
    August 1, 2010 5:47 am

    YESSSSSSSS! I’m so happy you decided to start blogging again (Way to go Millison!).

    Does Naftalie like swinging now!? I can’t believe how much she’s changed just in the last couple of weeks. Seeing those pictures made me realize how much I miss having you guys around. And now I’m crying!

    Love you guys…

    • August 1, 2010 7:45 am

      We love you too Dana, and wish we lived closer. You’re kindred spirits.

  4. Sheryl permalink
    August 1, 2010 6:44 am

    Oh I’ve MISSED this! Millison…..hats off to you! applause and accolades to you my dear for getting this blog back. These pictures brought tears to my eyes. You all look SO great and happy. And kudos for the free groceries:):) I love you all sooo much!

  5. August 1, 2010 7:09 am

    And see? Now yall got me cryin’ again!

  6. Molly permalink
    August 1, 2010 7:15 am

    Huzzah! Glad you guys are back… I was going through some major humble learning/naftalie withdrawals.
    The magic show was a flop? Please tell me it involved a sword of destiny, a disappearing yacht, or pennies from heaven!

    • August 1, 2010 7:46 am

      There were a lot of “ILLUSIONS Michael!” under our breaths.

  7. August 1, 2010 7:35 am

    I am glad I am not the only one crying looking at these darling pictures. I loved seeing the toophies!! She has grown since the last blog….truly. You may not see it, but we sure can. You all look GREAT!!!!! I miss you all beyond words.
    1 year, already, in NY. Wow!!! Who can believe.
    Love you all, thank you for letting in on your lives, and keep up the sharing.
    Hugs to you all.

  8. sandra permalink
    August 1, 2010 3:49 pm

    you are truly unbelievable. awe-inspiring. you’re too cool.

    i.miss.you.

    p.s. naftalie is getting so big! she’s breath-taking…those eyes…astonishing!

  9. Dennis permalink
    August 1, 2010 5:33 pm

    Great pictures. I can’t pick a favorite so I’ll just say thanks for starting this up again.

  10. brady permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:09 am

    You’re all back! Thank you for all of your pleading Millison.

    p.s. leftover bbq grocery shopping is a key skill for the ppa.

  11. August 2, 2010 12:39 pm

    WHATWHAT!!! You’re back! Danny’s shirt can hardly contain his biceps, you look BEAUTIFUL, and naftalie and her darling little bunny teeth and brown dangly legs are just too much. I love this family.

    p.s. i loooooove when there are multiple pics!!

Leave a Reply

