Skip to content

If Quilting is Wrong I Don’t Want to Be Right

August 14, 2010

I bought my sewing machine last year in hopes of making clothes for me and my children. Several months ago I pulled out a shirt pattern and after cutting all of the pieces, I realized that I hated what I was doing and actually threw them away *wince*. Quilting though……. quilting is deeply satisfying and a true creative outlet for me. It doesn’t require a pattern or instructions, and a blanket lasts far longer than a piece of clothing. There is something very special about the piecing and stitching and handmade-ness of it; the quilts Rikki and Molly gave me are some of my favorite gifts.

The latest is for the new daughter of Danny’s roommates in college, Mason (aka Zarathustra Goinidias) and Emily. Applique is even easier than piecing (piecing circles is down right ridiculous), this quilt took me all of two days.

Naftalie is the best tester for quilts. (Front)

It’s very standable. (Back)

I like folded blankets scattered around the house when there’s a new baby.

I left a bit of extra space at the bottom to patch an embroidered name, this will be my first foray with embroidery, isn’t this lovely?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Meary permalink
    August 14, 2010 12:40 am

    Shanny, a) this is ridiculously cute. b) The title is awesome. I can just hear you saying it and kind of giggling to yourself. Want to make me a quilt? Do I have to have a kid first?

    • August 14, 2010 1:00 am

      In most cases I’d say you need to have a kid, but I think a pet would do.

  2. brady permalink
    August 14, 2010 1:19 am

    shannon, you are so gifted at quilting. your quilts are so great.

  3. Molly permalink
    August 14, 2010 1:48 am

    Beautiful! I love the back, especially, and those spirals.

  4. Dana permalink
    August 14, 2010 2:52 am

    that is SO CUTE! I seriously need to start quilting. I was just thinking the other day how I’d love to make a nice quilt for snuggling up on the couch. Is it expensive to buy all the fabric?

    • August 14, 2010 5:32 am

      I won a fat quarter pack and used it! Fabric is so expensive, it’s almost silly. I use cotton and bamboo batting, and that’s more expensive too (if you buy queen sized batting you can get several baby quilts out of it though). You should definitely start quilting Dana, and winning fabric!

  5. Sheryl permalink
    August 14, 2010 3:48 am

    Wow! Beautiful! Love the spirals and the color choices:) You, my dear, are one talented seamstress! What an irreplaceable, invaluable gift you are giving. These are made with love from the heart. There’s no greater gift!

  6. Caitlyn permalink
    August 14, 2010 5:18 am

    oh my goodness, i love these. those spirals are so cool and i love the one column of circles on the back. love it!

    • August 14, 2010 5:29 am

      Carti, I really have a quilt for you. It’s big though, and I don’t know how I’m going to quilt it because I’m not sure can fit between the arm and the needle (if that makes any sense to you). Please be patient!

  7. millison permalink
    August 14, 2010 6:21 am

    Well I’m inspired! But not to quilt. I’m inspired to watch your amazing, creative self and see what you come up with next. The good news for my house: since the kittens finally went back to the Humane Society I have been able to pull out Francesca (my sewing form)so now I can resume work on creating the Ultimate Skirt. When it’s finished to my satisfaction, it’ll be awesome. I want a highly moveable, go anywhere, do anything all day long kind of skirt. So yay for sewing!

  8. millison permalink
    August 14, 2010 6:23 am

    And PS, that baby could not look more healthy and vibrant. What a testimony to your parenting practices!

  9. Caitlyn permalink
    August 15, 2010 6:30 am

    you have a quilt for me?! take your time, ill be patient!

  10. August 21, 2010 5:35 am

    i looooooove this. the colors and the fabric are amazing. the best part is the spirals and the one solid row on back. but i DO love the front. i can’t choose. I LOVE IT ALL!

  11. August 22, 2010 11:09 pm

    love it….you are very creative.

Leave a Reply

