Skip to content

August 18, 2010

I’ve been reading some great books this summer, Anna Karenina and Half The Sky have been the most memorable. It’s amazing what we can learn and be exposed to through books. I recently checked out a book about the Candy Bomber who dropped chocolates to kids in West Berlin after WWII. Danny’s reading some of Philip Goodchild’s works when he’s not studying for the GRE (which he takes tomorrow!). We’ve become fond of the children’s author, Sandra Boynton, who writes Snuggle Puppy and Belly Button Book. Another Naftalie favorite, A Good Day by Kevin Hinkes.

We’re so thankful to live four blocks from our library branch. It’s one of the smallest branches in the county, so we know the children’s librarian by name (Quinn) and the women always dote on Naftalie. We go several times a week and tap into the fantastic inter-library loan system. A few months ago we walked up to the front doors and read that the library was closed for roofing repairs. When we turned around Naftalie burst into tears.

Naftalie is saying “buh” for book, and will tell me “no” and bat at the cover if it’s one she’s tired of. I started reading to her before she slept for the night at two months. It’s been a wonderful ritual for us and at this point she’s had a book opened up for her over a thousand times!

Have you read anything significant/entertaining/enlightning/inspiring lately?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. brady permalink
    August 18, 2010 5:52 am

    i just finished grapes of wrath. steinbeck is so great at storytelling. the boy who harnessed the wind was another great book i read this summer.

  2. millison permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:35 am

    Oh…! Our little Naftalie looks like such a pretty little angel. Seeing pics and hearing of your adventures always tugs at my heartstrings. You are carrying on the Finer legacy of a love for books. We used to take Danny to the library when we lived in Yuma. He would get all spread out and look over the books, just fascinated by them all. When Jon was little we used to watch Reading Rainbow and then go get books also. But the magic library days were when Danny was about 3-4 years old. Endless piles of wonderful children’s books, many of which are out of print now. I particularly remember a series by Donald Carrick about boys and dogs and knights, all hand illustrated in pencil. I wish I had had the sense back then to buy them because they are no longer available. They were magical.

    I’m plowing through Full Catastrophe Living, a long book about the link between proper stress management and pain reduction. Boring. My FAVORITE book of the summer is hands down “The Shack” by William P. Young. It’s changed my life. Also, a close second, “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett. Wow.

    Hey, let us know how Danny did with his GRE. All my love to you and your beautiful family.

  3. Molly permalink
    August 18, 2010 8:00 am

    Who is this ecstatic, bright-eyed child?

    Oh man, I just love good reading summers. I’ve had a great reading summer– TONS of good YA lit (Absolutely True Diaries of a Part-Time Indian, Maniac Magee, and Persepolis, among them.) And thanks to Danny, I finally read Kavalier & Clay, which is now one of my all-time favorites.

  4. brady permalink
    August 18, 2010 11:43 am

    we have a boynton dog stuffed animal as a play toy for annie. it’s a dog with a conductor hat. i wonder if it is snuggle puppy.

  5. Sheryl permalink
    August 19, 2010 6:16 am

    oh.my.goodness! This child is too precious! I love the fact you are instilling the love of books and learning at such a young age. Reading to her is the beginning of her formal education. She’s already well on her way!:):). You’re doing such an amazing job. That blonde hair is just too much! I love it!!!!!

  6. August 21, 2010 5:27 am

    Ahhh Naftalie pics never get old. The first one is precious. I have read the same book to Ruby so many times that we’ve started making up our own story as I turn the pages. Most recently it was about a brave little baby that drove in the car with her family for 15 hours and never complained and had a great attitude the whole time.

    I am going to start reading Running for Women. A friend of mine recommended it and I am very excited!

  7. August 22, 2010 12:12 am

    1001 Arabian Nights…jk. Nothing for fun lately. I plan to read a lot this next week for class. I love the pictures and the part about Naftalie crying when the library was closed. As a kid who read the World Book Encyclopedia I can relate.

Leave a Reply

