Skip to content

Chalkboard Paint

August 28, 2010

Have you guys tapped into the creative gold mine that is chalkboard paint? Maybe I’m behind the times, but lately I’ve been wanting to paint everything in the house with this stuff. I’ve seen refrigerators, cabinets, entire walls, tables (see above), plant pots, and many, many jars painted with this. The possiblities are endless.

I cleaned up my little sewing corner this morning and I’m considering covering this green with the chalkboard paint……….yea or nay?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. brady permalink
    August 28, 2010 6:10 am

    one thing that chalkboard paint is not awesome on is countertops. our kitchen has them, no me gusta.

    i vote for keeping the board green. i like the color.

    • August 28, 2010 7:02 am

      Did you ever see Josh and Laurel’s countertops in their Tontitown house? It was stained concrete and it was way, way cool.

  2. jessica kiehn permalink
    August 28, 2010 6:30 am

    Keep it green! That bright Kelly green is so pretty and it just pops.

    Brady, I didn’t realize you had chalkboard paint on your countertops. Yes, I agree that would stink.

  3. Dana permalink
    August 28, 2010 8:33 am

    I say leave it green…but maybe paint something that is square or a cool shape with the chalkboard paint so you can have little places to write on, hanging from the peg board.

    When we were re-doing the house we saw that stuff in a magazine, they had framed out a portion of a door and painted it with the chalkboard paint…so cool for the little kids to draw on!

    • August 28, 2010 9:11 am

      Dana, I thought of you so many times while I was setting this up. I cut up a wire hanger to put in the pegboard holes – and they looked like Hercules Hooks! I just kept thinking of that video and the absolute worst/most offensive (hilarious) lines.

  4. August 28, 2010 12:07 pm

    Yay! Another post from Shannon. I’m with the others: I love your green sewing board, which is a brilliant idea for a sewing corner btw. I’ve never heard of chalkboard paint but it sounds fun. And I do own my own house so….hmmmm, does it come off if I paint the walls? I used to do Fairy Murals for walls in my old high school. Love murals.

    Naftalie is the picture of contentment in the above. There are so many wonderful ways to stimulate a child’s imagination. And mine:) Love you Shannon!

  5. Sheryl permalink
    August 29, 2010 12:00 am

    Yet another “keep it green” vote. That is adorable and lighthearted. SO organized, too! Lil’ Naftalie….how cute is she?! This will be a pose for years to come; Naftalie either reading or drawing or writing. She’s so intelligent and peaceful…..and I’m sure creative!! Love to see new pictures! More Thompson pics, please!:)

Leave a Reply

