Skip to content

A Fine(r) Day

September 5, 2010

* Jessica, this post is dedicated to you. This is a simple/typical day for us, just doing our thing. There are lots of pictures too (because I know this is your favorite part). 

Love, Shannon *

The only plants that made it this summer in the garden were the peppers (I think one squirrel tried to eat a few, I bet he didn’t make it to see his next acorn). Danny found this beauty last night

so in celebration the day was started with a crockpot of chili (note: after dicing five cayenne peppers it’s recommended to wash hands before putting a finger in your eye to fish something out – otherwise your husband will have to create a makeshift eye washing station in the bathroom and you temporarily will lose sight in the eye). While Danny finished up the index he’s been working on (he’s compiling an index for a book that will be published soon, I’m pretty proud of him), Naftalie and I went to the farmers market for some vegetables. We ate a pumpkin whoopie pie from the Amish bakery stand and enjoyed the smells, sights and sounds of hundreds of people gathered together.

Naftalie has a new toy she hasn’t quite gotten the hang of, but loves to carry around.

This is my daughter: a blur. She’s walking and trotting every where, it’s absolutely fascinating to observe.

Naftalie is transitioning into a true toddler. She’s napping once a day, learning new words almost on a daily basis, and learning/exploring her environment with fervency.

We’re smelling and tasting:

Exploring and watching:

And having a ball mastering new skills:

(this reed/stick was the highlight of Naftalie’s day).

I’m so blessed by her.

We finished up our day with some hearty chili and corn bread.

Mmmmm.

Jessica, I’m excited to see little Ruby gehl’s typical day. We’re blessed, blessed mamas.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 11:20 am

    hooray! We are indeed blessed mamas. This is so beautiful. She is getting SO big, Kevin and I can’t believe it. So cute that she just carries around her new toy that she doesn’t know how to work yet! LOOOOOVE the picture of her standing, staring like “hmm, what’s he doing?”
    The smelling of the cherry tomato pic…her hand up to her mouth is ADORABLE. That sweet little tiny shannon hand, but on naftalie.
    Thank you for the WHOLE thing dedicated to me!

    p.s. An index Danny?! THAT’S AWESOME! We are so proud of you, too!

  2. September 5, 2010 12:37 pm

    I love seeing Naftalie walking. What a joy and blessing to me. I am so blessed to feel your passion for your family. Now you know why I am always saying….how precious and important my family is to me. Outside of God….there is NO second other than my wonderful family God privileged me to be the mother, grandmother, and now the great. I truly am so thankful to HIM!!!!

    How did Danny do on his exam or what it was that he was taking the day you texted me?

    How are you feeling? How about some pictures of momma.
    Are you carrying this baby like you carried Naftalie?
    I am so excited. Enjoy the beautiful fall weather while you can get out with you little cutie pie!!! She is adorable!!

  3. Sheryl permalink
    September 6, 2010 12:35 am

    Adorable!!! This just makes me smile on the inside and out! Naftalie is growing up and blossoming and learning and absorbing and beautifully becoming a little child! She is SO precious! You can just see in her eyes and countenance the contentedness in her, but also her curiosity with new things and satisfaction in experiencing them. Isn’t it amazing/satisfying/exciting as a parent to observe?!! I love you 4!!

  4. Caitlyn permalink
    September 6, 2010 9:51 am

    oh naftalie! you guys have a great day. i love the idea of naftalie shuffling around, so excited to see new things. She is getting a belly and I LOVE that. Her sweet face makes me so happy when I get to see a new picture of her! Love you all.

  5. Caitlyn permalink
    September 7, 2010 11:10 pm

    P.S…..I LOVE your house!!!

Leave a Reply

