Skip to content

October 16, 2010

  • This is Galilee Eddleman’s quilt. It’s my first quilt with linen (my favorite fabric) and I loved it.
  • I’m feeling physically the best I’ve felt during this pregnancy; yesterday I sorted Naftalie’s newborn and infant diapers to be used by Thompson (!).
  • The fact that I will soon be a mother of two is setting in. Scared/excited/unprepared/overjoyed.
  • The weather has turned cold and dark, which means fires at night and lots of baking in the oven.
  • Naftalie continues to grow (although this week we found that she’s still a wee one, in the 5th percentile for hight/weight) and says something new on a daily basis (today it was “stop it”).
  • I have recently been oscillating between a cavernous sense of loneliness and an equally expansive sense of contentment and gratitude. Hormones?
  • Upon Mary Beth’s encouragement, I recently bought my first knitting needles and skein. We’ll see where this goes.

  • Our beloved (Uncle) Kevin came to visit this week. I love seeing these two together.
  • I was recently invited to a book club, which is so great because I dearly miss our literary group in Hawaii (a group of women including teachers and a UH English professor, doesn’t get better than that). This month they’re reading Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen and I’m jumping in.
  • Danny and I have really enjoyed a “Dinner and Discussion” group we recently started attending. The couple hosting is wanting start a home church and are in the beginning stages. It’s like a drink of cool water to hear others who have similar perspectives and passions about Faith, Community, God/Jesus/Spirit, and practice.
  • Naftalie’s precious baby passport recently arrived, which means we’re all set to go to Montreal at the beginning of November.
  • I think about Christmas and Brady and Molly being here about twice a week.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. millison permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:37 am

    Shannon, wow, I have so many things I want to say in response to this [loaded] blog. First, I love the idea of your working with linen. Nature’s comfort cloth. Second, it’s wonderful to see the smile on Danny’s face–their friendship just shows, it’s so neat. I miss hearing Danny’s voice and his chuckle. Also, Water for Elephants was/is a wonderful engrossing story. Are you reading it now? And good for you, the home group sounds perfect for you. What’s happening in Montreal? And lastly, I would give my pinky finger to hear Naftalie saying “stop it”, omg that has got to be so precious!!!!

  2. Dana permalink
    October 16, 2010 12:37 pm

    Love the linen….beautiful! It’s such a pretty fabric.
    Brandon and I got a huge kick out of Naftalie saying “stop it”…she’s definitely a little girl and not a baby anymore.
    And I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling good! Hope that you continue to feel this good!

    Miss you guys…glad Kevin was able to visit Danny, that’s awesome!

  3. October 17, 2010 4:42 am

    first of all, hallelujah for a new blog post.

    Secondly, you little teaser! You show us the quilt all folded up?! We want to see it all!

    Lastly, I love and miss you guys so much. Wish we were accompanying Broon and Taj MaMoll this winter. I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU ARE ABOUT TO HAVE ANOTHER BABY…AND A BOY AT THAT!! WOOOOHOOO!!!

  4. Molly permalink
    October 17, 2010 9:29 am

    I can’t wait, Shannon. And by the time we get there, little Thompson will be in the world, too!
    Also, I love the idea of you all settling into the beginning of winter, way up north. We’re still feeling remnants of summer here, but I’m looking forward to the cold nights, thick socks, and of course, the baking.

  5. Sheryl permalink
    October 20, 2010 5:38 am

    I miss you. I just can’t wait to see you and soon:) Take lots of pictures in Montreal, please? and……more pics! I miss seeing you.

Leave a Reply

