Skip to content

Aurevoir Montreal, Bonjour Reality

November 9, 2010

Even though motherhood consumes my days, my heart, my life, and my purpose – sometimes I still forget the reality of what this actually means.

During the weeks leading up to our little trip to Montreal, I often pictured Danny and I strolling hand in hand throughout the quasi-Parisian city, sipping coffee and feeding French pastries to each other.

I wasn’t extremely pregnant.

Naftalie wasn’t there.

Danny didn’t have his professional debut to prepare for.

And it wasn’t pouring rain with winds that could pull up a tree.

So obviously I was living in a dream world. Although the trip wasn’t the romantic getaway I had imagined, we did get to experience a new place, which is always exciting for me. We actually cut our trip short because Naftalie is partial to her crib, her white noise, her schedule, and familiarity when it comes to sleeping. Danny’s presentation went so well that we were able to laugh it off and drive home with the satisfaction that we saved hundreds of dollars on the hotel bill and billions of stress hormones while trying to get her to sleep another night. Naftalie was a total pro while I listened to him practice in the foyer of our beautiful hotel. For 30 minutes Naftalie stayed near us and greeted hotel patrons as they passed by (while melting hearts and spreading joy to stuffy philosophers and conference attendees).

One major bummer was that the weather seriously didn’t cooperate, and I couldn’t bring myself to take the camera out in those conditions – even though I wanted to get some shots of the beautiful architecture and rich European feel of the city. While Danny was at the conference, Naftalie and I walked around down town (as close as possible to buildings to protect us from the wind and rain) and did what we do best: find a library and get to reading/exploring books.

Apparently, Canadians are very sensitive about their books, because shortly after taking a few snapshots I was asked to put my camera away and that photographing inside the library was prohibited. Excusez-moi.

So, I have no fabulous pictures to share, tales of French wine being sipped over romantic dinners or concerts/plays/operas that blew us away – but we did get to be together, and for that I am grateful and always blessed by.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. brady permalink
    November 9, 2010 4:49 am

    i was just about to get off the internet and start working on my homework, i decided i would check for a finer update. i am so glad i did. sorry the weather did not cooperate, i am sure it will next time danny presents in montreal. by the way way to go danny.

    the picture of naftalie in the hotel hallway is perfect for her children’s book.

  2. Sheryl permalink
    November 9, 2010 7:49 am

    YAY!!!! New pictures! I love, love it! And that picture of Naftalie walking in the hallway is amazing. Oh how I love it! Now…..how’s little Thompson growing? Pictures of beautiful you with Bebe? Love you!!

  3. November 9, 2010 1:10 pm

    YESSS!!! My heart skipped a beat when the page loaded and there was a new post to look at! We love the Finer family and this is our only way to “see” you people!
    I love the part about N greeting the stuffy philosophers…SO TRUE! I’ve always said if you hold a baby (or receive a tiny toothed grin from a toddler) and it does nothing to you, then you have no heart.

    Love the pictures, and so glad your trip went well!

  4. Dennis permalink
    November 9, 2010 7:37 pm

    Very nice night shot…showed the haze caused by the moisture very well. Reality is always better. If the fantasy always happened then it would become mundane. The surprise factor is the intrigue. Great shot of Danny and Naftalie on the way home, too.

    • millison permalink
      November 11, 2010 5:41 pm

      What Sheryl said. Wonderful post, Shannon. I will send this to Grandad. He talks on and on whenever he reads a post from you or Jessica. And don’t you worry, as soon as I get the $$$ together to be able to spend 4 days with you guys (babysitting) you two can take off and go on a date. This will happen before they get into high school. I’m so glad you accompanied Danny to Montreal!

Leave a Reply

