Skip to content

January 3, 2011

Thompson, I know when you’re a teenager you’re going to thank me for editing this. You’re welcome honey.

We have a son. His name is Thompson Robert Finer and he’s made of pure sugar. He’s the sweetest big bundle of love and peace and contentment. We love him like crazy and he has made our family a bona-fide, for real, family.

And life as we knew it is long gone.

It’s wonderful and crazy and emotional and exhausting and awesome and frustrating and different and humbling and hilarious and, well, sobering.

Thompson and Naftalie were both crying at the same time several days ago (this happens more often than you might think) and I had one in each arm. Danny looked at me on the bed and I saw myself through him and said, “I’m a mom“. For the past 20 months I’ve learned to wear the identity of mother, but now there’s no denying this is my identity. I’m going to be perfectly honest; this part of my mothering journey is catching me (and us) by surprise with how challenging it is.

Blogging is #374,384 on the priority list right now. Even still, I wanted to give a collective Thank You to those of you who have helped and supported us. Every meal, every call (even though I can’t call back or don’t get the message until days later) to check in, every outfit, every message of excitement for his arrival – they’ve all been a blessing. Thank you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 1:15 pm

    Oh, Shannon. He is absolutely beautiful. What a wonderful and precious addition to your family. I’m sure you will trudge gracefully through the motherhood that is up to your knees!

  2. millison permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:46 pm

    Love you Shannon. And your beautiful little family.

  3. Sheryl permalink
    January 3, 2011 4:07 pm

    After pouring my heart out, my comments didn’t post! Let me just say…..Hang in there sweetie! Thompson is so beautiful and you and Danny are so blessed with such amazing children. You’re doing an amazing astounding job. Just remember through the crying, temper tantrums, diapers, runny noses, fevers, complete exhaustion, you’re shaping the next generation. And what a great job you’re doing. Congratulations! And thank YOU for my time there in NY. I miss you all and love you deeply.

  4. Dennis permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:04 pm

    Fairly life changing, huh? Equilibrium will return but you’ll never be the same. When you look back on difficult tasks you seldom remember the really bad parts. Try new things and find out what works. As a “first responder” don’t forget that if YOU fail then the whole thing falls apart. Take some time to re-charge and reflect. Don’t wait for that time to appear; make it happen. Don’t be afraid to just let the pieces fall where they may. I’ve heard that kids cry a lot and it doesn’t always demand a response from a parent (once you’ve investigated, of course).

  5. January 4, 2011 9:25 am

    Capital T! You’re here, and you’re darling!!

    Good thing he is such a sweetie, to help Momma out. Can you imagine a super high-maintenance baby that cries non-stop right now?! Thompson, you sweet little baby.

    Remember…everything doesn’t have to be perfect! Just do your best, do what you can, and that’s exactly what your kids need. They don’t need some crazy perfect TV mom that has a flawless house, dinner cooked every night, crafts made and laundry folded or they would have been born into that family. They need Shannon, and whatever that looks like mom-wise.

  6. millison permalink
    January 5, 2011 4:50 am

    Um, dittos. I would have said all the above but my brain isn’t right. I do want to remind you, Shannon, to be good to yourself. I was that crazy-perfect TV mom and it’s not healthy. I’m proud of you for being Shannon, not because I have some weird idea of perfection in mind. Love you guys.

  7. January 9, 2011 2:55 pm

    just stopping by for another peek at Thompson…

    i love you sweetheart.

  8. Sheryl permalink
    January 12, 2011 4:19 am

    I know you’re busy busy. Longing for new pics of those beeeeeeeeeeautiful bebes of yours!!!

Leave a Reply

