Skip to content

The Extrodinary Mondane

March 7, 2011

I’m reading a book on photography that’s got me all jazzed up about using my camera again. Photographing Your Family encourages capturing the everyday life of your family, rather than posed and artificial set ups. The author’s suggestions have felt really right this week and I’ve found a renewed passion in documenting my family through photography.

I also listened to a message from my sister who had just read through the history of this blog. The message cut out for a while and I didn’t get to hear much of what she said, but I heard that she had seen a photo of Naftalie that must have tickled her because I did hear some laughing. And that night I looked through old posts and relived moments of last year. It was very special. What a gift I could be giving to my family by archiving our lives in this way!

There’s a lot of extrodinary developments, interactions, moments, and flashes that are happening in our home. They happen every day and they are lost within minutes – here’s to capturing them for them and for us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily S. permalink
    March 11, 2011 6:34 am

    Shannon-

    Your blog is awesome! Thanks for sharing a little bit of your life and family. I often find myself moving things out of the way when I photograph Reference, but the perfection of the photo is really sometimes in just capturing the moment. On those crazy days when only half of Reference’s face makes it into the picture, I look back and think “yea, I remember that day.”

    -emily

  2. Molly permalink
    March 13, 2011 10:04 am

    Thanks for sharing your pictures and stories! I go back through your blog from time to time and read old posts, and remember how sweet it has been to see Naftalie go from being an infant, to a baby, to a little kid. I can’t wait to see you guys (next month!!).

Leave a Reply

