Skip to content

Ash Wednesday – 22 Month Old Style

March 10, 2011

Today is Ash Wednesday. I’m ashamed to admit that the most significant thing I’ve done during Lent in the past is give up Diet Coke. This year I am purposing to remember those 40 days Jesus spent in the desert and asking for a heightened sensitivity to how it affected the rest of the Story.

Naftalie has a Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd-Jones and Jago. I can’t say enough about this book. Sally Lloyd-Jones has a beautiful gift with words and every time I read to Naftalie I smile at how His Love is communicated with every story and parable. Below is her retelling of Jesus’ encounter with Evil in the desert.

After Jesus was baptized, he went straight into the desert. Jesus needed to get away by himself and be somewhere quiet and lonely. He needed to be with his heavenly Father to get ready for his new life.

In the desert, Jesus thought about the Secret Rescue Plan he had made with God. Before the foundation of the world, they both knew what would have to happen. To rescue God’s children, Jesus would have to die. There was no other way. It was the reason he had come.

Now that old enemy – the one who had spoken through the snake to Adam and Even, back in the garden – he didn’t want Jesus to rescue God’s own people. So he lied to Jesus. “Are you really God’s own Son?” he whispered. “Poor you. God must not love you. You don’t need to die. Do it my way. Yes, and – ” “No!” Jesus said to the liar. “I will do what God says.”

Jesus wasn’t like Adam. Jesus was a new kind of man. He would not believe the terrible lie that the enemy spoke. Jesus knew God loved him. And he would trust God. No matter what.

Be blessed on this Ash Wednesday and during this Lent season.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 12:41 pm

    I love that book! We’ve read it through to Liam once, but I’m really looking forward to the day he can understand what we’re saying … at least sort of.

  2. March 10, 2011 2:42 pm

    We love that book here, too. The simplicity of the story frequently makes me cry.

  3. millison permalink
    March 14, 2011 3:32 pm

    What a beautiful book! I’m so glad you are teaching your children about Jesus and God. It’s wonderful.

  4. Marms permalink
    March 17, 2011 5:04 am

    I just looked and saw your new blogs! Where have I been?

    Oh Shannon. How I love you and how I can.not.wait.til.you.all.get.here!!! SOOOOO excited!:):)

Leave a Reply

