Skip to content

Celebrating Purim

March 22, 2011

 

I’ve shared in the past my respect and affection of the beautiful Jewish faith and culture. I suppose you could say I have a crush on Judaism. 

We celebrated Purim on Sunday. This was a new celebration for our family; and as always, I enjoyed learning about its history and the various ways to celebrate Purim. 

I’m getting the hang of traditional Jewish foods and seder spreads, but I still have a lot to learn. The hamantaschen and the potato latkes were delicious, my first time making either. Hamantaschen are the triangular cookies representing Haman’s (the bad guy who wanted King Ahasuerus to kill the Jews) ear. Good ol’ Mordecai cut it off and now we celebrate by eating pastries!

A Google search can tell you anything you’d like to know, but the gist of Purim is the celebration of Ester’s role in freeing the Jewish exiles. There’s also a particular recognition of the “hiddenness” of God throughout the story of Ester. God’s name actually isn’t even mentioned in the book.

This explains why my daughter is dressed as a giraffe at dinner.

I’d like to encourage you and your family to celebrate holidays, especially those your family may not have celebrated. Christianity is in part a direct response to the Jewish requirements to do, but I think we lost something by forgetting to remember. 

Even if it’s National Ice Cream Day, take the opportunity to celebrate together and do something different. There’s a good possibility that you’ll make memories, start traditions, build community, eat delicious foods, learn something about a different culture, and have fun!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica kiehn permalink
    March 22, 2011 4:02 am

    Naftalie…i hope you get off the plane wearing that giraffe suit!

  2. millison permalink
    March 22, 2011 4:49 am

    Oh Shannon, I just love your posts. Your site is so professional and inviting, and your thoughts always inspire and inform. What a wonderful treat it is for me to get a glimpse of my beautiful grandchildren and your family. It is often the one source of sunshine in my day. I love you guys and I’m so proud of the way you are raising your children. Now please post multiple pictures of Thompson as soon as possible 🙂

  3. Marms permalink
    March 24, 2011 5:46 am

    Oh my, oh my, oh my!! I just got back on your blog, which I haven’t checked in far too long. THANK you for posting! Fantastic!

    Naftalie in her giraffe suit enjoying Purim dinner and celebration. I.just.love.it! What memories you are making.

    I absolutely can.not WAIT for you all to come to Arkansas and make memories! Sure wish Danny could come along. I miss you all

  4. Dawn Reeves permalink
    March 25, 2011 5:17 am

    You’re too cool for school. Love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

